Historical Background
The Pertsov hermitage belonged to the broad monastic colonization of the northern Russian forests in the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, the era of the so-called Northern Thebaid, when ascetics withdrew into the wilderness of the Vologda region to found small communities. Onouphrios and Auxentios are placed within this movement, their foundation of 1499 being a characteristic example of two hermits clearing a remote site and raising a church.
In 1588 the hermitage was assigned to the monastery founded by Venerable Cornelius of Komel, and that monastery was later abolished in 1764 amid the reorganization of Russian monastic houses. The site of the Pertsov hermitage was in time given to the women's monastery of Vologda, where a skete for nuns was established.